So Crazy, It Just Might Work

July 17, 2008 at 3:33 pm | Posted in Workplace | 1 Comment

Apparently, corporate-level workers for Best Buy are no longer expected to show up for work.  Their management has adopted a new culture of ROWE — Results Only Work Environment, where people are expected to get their assignments done however they want.  Show up to work or not.  Work sixty hours a week or not.  Nobody cares, as long as the work gets done.

Strange.  This is exactly how I survived four years of college.  Nobody cared where I was or how long I was there, as long as I got my assignments turned in on time.  But then, I was the one paying for that experience.  When it became someone else’s nickel, they wanted a complete accounting of how I spent the eight hours a day they were buying off of me.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hmmm..wonder if this would work at my job


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

