A Year in the Mirror

July 22, 2009 at 11:13 am | Posted in Faded Mirror, Personal | 2 Comments

To the two or three people who might view this weblog occasionally, welcome to the one-year anniversary of The Faded Mirror.  Yes, it was about one year ago that I started tossing random thoughts and web links to the general public.  There have been some popular posts, and some that were completely ignored.  And, over this time, my interests have undergone a bit of a change.

It’s not that there aren’t interesting topics to blog about, but that anything having to do with politics, culture, or economics these days is so goshdurn depressing, and I am increasingly finding that I am more and more  unqualified to write about theological topics.  “A theologian is one who prays,” which puts me at about the Kindergarten level.  There’s not much to say that others haven’t said much better.

And regarding my fascination with personal technology … well, I am so far behind in keeping up that I might as well be reviewing the Mellotron.  My time is so limited that it’s almost impossible to find time to dabble, let alone take pictures and write about it.  But, rest assured that I still have some projects in the works, and I’ll post about them … someday.

So, where does that leave this blog?  Well, my initial goal of  posting once a week has fallen by the wayside.  I might get to it once a month or so.  Also, I’ll probably limit myself to interesting minutia rather than global concepts.  There’s just too much to follow these days, it’s constantly changing, and very little is encouraging to me.  I think I’ll just keep quiet to preserve what’s left of my sanity.

So, if you are one of the two people who read this, please drop a note in the comment box!  And, if you have some trivial idea you want overanalyzed, toss it out — maybe I’ll read up on it and find fodder for a offbeat blog post.

Enjoy.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I, for one, would like to hear about your family life from a father’s viewpoint, what it’s like for YOU.

    Also, any theological discoveries you are making along the road would make great reading. Especially for a fellow kindergartner (and sometimes I’m afraid I’m not even in kindergarten yet, but in pre-school).

    Yes, politics, culture and economics are depressing these days! But your point of view might not be. (Mine for sure is…)

    love,
    Anastasia

  2. Oh my goodness – that was worth the entertainment value for the links! Couldn’t give a hoot about the mellatron but the Orthodox theology article was great and the rest…well…I hope your other reader tries them all and gets as much of a chuckle as I did!


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

