Learning Linkstation Linux

October 6, 2009 at 12:41 pm | Posted in Personal, Technology | 1 Comment

The hard drive on my Tivo Companion seems to be having issues, so I took it offline before I lost all our media.  I’ve been looking at bumping things to the next level, anyway.   I mean, a Windows server is cool, but nothing is as l33t as a Linux server appliance!  So, when I found a great deal on a Buffalo Linkstation on eBay (natch), I just had to take the plunge.

So, after we cracked the case to verify that it was in good working order, my Padawan and I set it up on its own subnet and flashed it to a Freelink distro of Debian Linux.  Then, it was time to put it on the network, roll up the sleeves, fire up a terminal emulator, and wade in.  Of course, none of the detailed instructions that we had found on line panned out, so I’ve been making up a lot of steps via trial and error.  So far, we’ve managed to get Java loaded and a Samba share visible on the network.  I was trying to load VNC when the root partition ran out of space.  Now, I’m trying to figure out how to repartition a remote server … way cool!

Getting the new Tivo Server up and running may take a bit longer than I had hoped, but the result will be worth it.  So, in the meantime, let me leave you with four Lessons Learned:

  1. GUIs are for wimps.
  2. apt is the coolest thing since sliced bread.
  3. The World Wide Web is really just an extended man page for Linux.
  4. vi is a practical joke on the rest of the world that Bill Joy is still chuckling about.  

And, I still haven’t hit upon the right name for the server yet.  Suggestions?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I took 4 years of Greek and I don’t understand a word you said. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

